Been busy

doing nothing, knitting the whole day through.

Actually there hasn’t been that much knitting, there’s been lots of bits ‘n’ pieces and lots of helping other people – I spent the weekend helping out on the “Knit ‘n’ Natter” stand at “Creative Stitches and Hobbycrafts” exhibition at the Brighton Centre. (There are photos here – as usual, I forgot that I have a camera on my phone!). We were pretty busy, particularly with girls aged between  five and teenage, with knitting being the most popular sport by far. I showed a couple of people the basics of crochet, and even had the opportunity to whip out the hairpin lace tool.

 At these events, I’m always encouraged by the older knitters who come along and ask for help or advice, usually saying something like “I’ve been knitting for sixty years, but I’ve never been able to pick up stitches around a neckline neatly – any ideas?”

All it takes is few moments for a demo, a few repeats of the “three stitches to four rows” mantra and they go away with big smiles and renewed confidence in their knitting – it’s very heartening.

All I need now is someone to show me how to do Tunisian crochet and keep the sides parallel! Doesn’t seem to matter what I do, I always end up with a piece that is considerably narrower at the top than at the bottom.

There was a small window of opportunity for stash enhancement but I was very restrained – just some bargain-basement Jaeger Roma and Aqua that was too cheap to miss.

And a book (Knitter’s Handy book of Patterns)

And some Addi lace circulars

Oh! And some beady bits ‘n bobs – pliers, crimps, tigertail etc, nothin’ much…

See, very restrained!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Been busy

  1. Very restrained with the purchases! Someone told me there wasn’t a lot to buy but I seemed to fill my case and empty my wallet quite easily!

    Thanks for all of your help at the weekend and for contributing to the great atmosphere on the stand

  2. I’ve got SPA Knit and Spin coming up the weekend after next. I shall try to keep you in mind and use your example as inspiration so I don’t spend the mortgage money on yarn I don’t need!

Leave a Reply

