Distraction and diversion

The other day I read Peri’s post about the best present ever, which was totally not what one would think – it was this (the orange thing) rather dubious item that her husband had brought back from the shops. It reminded me of a couple of things I have stowed away in my kitchen cupboards purely for amusement value; all have been bought in foreign climes for no other reason than that the names amused me. Childish, I know.

I love looking around foreign supermarkets – the vegetables are all much more interestingly-shaped than the stuff we get here in the UK, as our EU friends do not labour under the misapprehension that a strangely-shaped carrot or potato will be bad for our health. It makes for endlessly diverting shopping trips (if you are as easily diverted as I am!)

First, the coffee (bought in Fuerteventura in 2001)

bonka-coffee.jpg

If all that caffeine doesn’t do it for you, maybe you should try this energy drink (bought in Prague, 2002)

erektus-drink.jpg

If that doesn’t do the trick, you can always resort to a more final solution (also bought in Prague)

semtex-drink.jpg

Pretty explosive, huh?

On a completely unrelated topic, I was talking to my mother this morning about ancestors; she has been researching our family tree for quite a while, and every so often turns up a tasty little morsel. The latest thing is a communication she received from a lady in Canada, a distant relation, who had unearthed a glimpse into the life of my great-great-great uncle, one William Goodeve, a sergeant in the Metropolitan Police in the 1850s. A trawl through the internet had revealed these little clippings from the newspapers of the time – another small divertissement from the daily grind. I, for one, would like to read more of this seamy side of life if only because I find the whole idea of cross-dressing as a crime highly amusing. I can only assume that Sergeant Goodeve’s part in the matter was so insignificant because he was too busy gawping at the sights before him!

I think I’ve got away with it – no-one’s noticed that I haven’t mentioned knitting. Phew! That was close.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Distraction and diversion

  1. Still doesn’t beat ‘cock’ soup 😉

  2. upknitcreek

    I know, but at least I tried…

  3. I am easily distracted by cool stuff. Especially cool stuff that is all foreign and exotic. I didn’t even notice the knitting part was missing…

  4. Interesting vegetables?

    I was in an Indian greengrocer’s in Newcastle in my student days. I saw a most interestingly shaped vegetable and couldn’t imagine what it was. I asked the Indian shop-keeper and he said, in the most broad of Geordie accents, “Wheigh, it’s a turnip, hinny.” Did I feel a fool, or what?

Leave a Reply

