A quiet week.

So not much to write about, although I must say thank you to the girls for their lovely Mothers’ Day present – it is lovely. (If you follow this link, it’s the “tea-for-one” with the hearts on it).

I was called upon to provide a taxi service a couple of times this last week, as Bethany was hostess to a French exchange student, and didn’t think it would be very fair to make her lug her enormous suitcase up and down the never-ending hill that leads to college from the train station. I was very worried that things were not going well as the two girls barely exchanged a word on the journey home when Les Françaises first arrived, but by the end of the week, they were firm friends.

lucy-bethany-amandine-080308.jpg

This is Lucy, Bethany and Amandine having lunch on the last day of Amandine’s stay – all happy and smiley. They weren’t smiling quite so much though when they realised they would have to get up at 5.30am the next day in order for Amandine to get her flight home. She spoke very good English so Bethany has yet prove that she can speak French as well as write it, though her turn will come in three weeks, when she goes to Nîmes to stay with Amandine and her family. I hope the weather is better there than it has been here – I don’t think Amandine could have chosen a worse week if she tried – wind, rain, cold and no clear skies or sun at all. C’est la vie.

There has been some knitting:

flutter-scarf.jpg

This is the Flutter scarf by Miriam Felton. It’s a lovely pattern, interesting to knit and the end result is stunning. This one is destined to be a retirement present for one of my colleagues, but I’m sure I will knit others (I’ve got some beautiful pure silk yarn that’s just dying to become something as floaty and gorgeous as this).

I found the pattern on Ravelry, which is where I seem to be spending a great deal of my time these days – it’s such a fantastic resource that I never need look anywhere else for my knitting fix. (No link, ’cause if you haven’t joined you’ll just be frustrated, and if you have, you already know what I mean… Google it at your peril.)

There are still some socks on the needles as well, just plain ones in some yarn that I dyed a little while ago. I will get round to taking some pictures, because the colours are doing some interesting things that I never would have imagined from seeing the unwound skein. I’ll never be able to replicate it because I’ve no idea what I did – I thought I was just being random with the dye! I don’t think I could ever do truly random unless I dyed with a blindfold on (not good for the kitchen worktops) or used one of those random number generator thingies and that would require far too much in the way of preparation and planning – I usually start dyeing because I’ve spent an hour or two prowling round the house, moaning that I’m bored and generally getting on everyone’s nerves because none of their suggestions quite fits the bill. I just need a quick fix of creativity every now and then, and dyeing yarn or fibre seems to be just the right activity at times like that. Knitting doesn’t do it, because the results aren’t instantaneous! I know – fickle.

In other news, little Mollie has had a very undignified trip to the vet (blood and urine tests, if you please!) where it was discovered that she has an over-active thyroid. She had lost about 700g/1½lb despite eating like a piggy and was ravenously hungry all the time. She has always been quite a vocal cat, but she was really shouting at us for food! Anyway, she is now on tablets twice a day, and seems to have calmed down a bit. Another blood test (and large bill, no doubt) in a couple of weeks will tell us if the tablets are working – meantime, we have become rather adept at disguising the tablets in “yog-yog” as she flatly refuses to have anything poked down her throat and will eat around the tablet if you put it in her meat – co-operation is a not a word that Mollie recognises – but she does love her yog-yog. I’m sure there will be photos soon of Mollie with her head stuck in a yogurt carton…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A quiet week.

  1. Don’t know if it’s available to you, but when the smaller, less fluffy kitty got sick, I got her thyroid meds in “treat” form. She loved the turkey flavor and it was the only medication I could get her to take during that time. The pain medication did not go nearly as well. Not at all… I was ready to start taking it myself!

    Lovely scarf and an even more lovely picture of the girls!

  2. ra

    nice scarf. You’ve really got me going with the cryptic comments about the sock yarn. Can’t wait to see the pictures!

Leave a Reply

