New toys

My brother sent me an email the other day, telling me he’d bought a new toy – a 25 year old Porsche (a 944, I think). Well, he’s built a conservatory and updated the bathroom so he was desperately in need of something to keep him out of mischief.

I was able to respond with new toys of my own: one of these and one of these

Toy the first has produced delicious, healthy bread, including spelt bread and sun-dried tomato with parmesan bread so far, with the promise of ever more exotic and delicious treats to come.

Toy the second has inevitably wasted a great deal of my time, not because it doesn’t work but because it has a different operating system, which I’m not used to, and because I needed to install a million and one programs that I use on a regular basis. It has taken so long that I actually didn’t knit at all yesterday, almost unheard of in this household.

This goes some way to explain why I haven’t blogged much this past week – the other reason is just extreme tiredness. I had to get up at stupid o’clock on Monday in order to deposit Bethany at college to pick up the coach that was taking her to the airport (not the local one 30 miles away, but one that is 120 miles away) for her trip to Nimes, southern France. This is the return visit following on from Amandine’s visit to us a few weeks ago. Trouble is, when I know I have to get up early, I find it very difficult to sleep at all as I’m so worried about oversleeping; net result is one very bleary-eyed, grumpy old bag who can barely string together a sentence so… yeah…. TV… watch….program…knitting….stuff…y’know… see ya!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New toys

  1. Oh, I remember it well! I changed operating systems last fall and I still don’t have everything in place the way I want it. But, the new computer is shiny and pretty and I forgive it.

    Now go get some sleep! Sleep is a very good thing…

Leave a Reply

