Tags etc

We’ll get to the tagging in a minute – don’t get too excited, I don’t lead a particularly enthralling life!

I have started the Francie socks and am very much enjoying knitting them. The shaping is quite unlike any socks I have knitted before and makes for a very strange-looking finished sock – the 2 x 2 ribbing tends to pull in a lot so the sock looks very long and thin; I had grave doubts as to whether it would fit over my chunky calves, but am pleased to say that the first one fits very nicely. I have a high instep and the lovely heel decreases/travelling rib moulds itself to the arch very well indeed. I made my sock a few rounds shorter than the instructions called for which led to a few minor problems with the toe decreases, but a bit of fudging never hurt anyone and I don’t suppose anyone would want to get that close to my feet to check whether the decreases are exactly symmetrical. Pictures when there is a pair, rather than a singleton.

 

Yesterday the girls and I visited Middle Farm near Firle, just because the weather was too nice to stay indoors all day. We hadn’t been there for a long time although we were quite regular visitors when the girls were small.

I quite often look at my two daughters and give myself a metaphorical pat on the back because of the way they’ve turned out – beautiful, intelligent, well-balanced young women of whom I am very proud. Then we have days like yesterday, when I wonder where it all went wrong…

I apologise to any other farm visitors who were alarmed/bemused by two young women giggling over the “ugliest bird I’ve ever seen” (a turkey), talking to a large sheep about where it would like to go for its honeymoon (don’t ask…), doubled up with laughter over some strange looking poultry that looked like it had been made of eyelash yarn (complete with pom-pom for a head) and finally, purchasing two animal-shaped face-masks from the gift shop. Apologies also to any drivers along the A27 at about 3.30pm yesterday afternoon who saw a little blue car with a blonde badger and a redheaded hedgehog in the back seats… I’m really sorry…

 

Anyway, onto the tagging. Steph got me this time and I haven’t been tagged for ages, so here goes:

Rules: Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?

This was not a particularly happy time – we were house-hunting and had made an offer on our present house. We then received a complete bombshell from the CSA, increasing the maintenance that Simon pays by over 20 times. This would have meant that we couldn’t afford the mortgage and would have been plunged into severe debt, as well as probably losing this house. The CSA were adamant that their figures were correct and would not concede their position, even though the sum they had come up with broke all their own rules. Simon was literally suicidal and threatened to throw himself under a bus. It took the threat of the involvement of our MP before the CSA reviewed the case and finally agreed that they had made a mistake. The maintenance payments were lowered significantly, although we never received any kind of apology and neither of us trusts the CSA one little bit. This all happened against a back-drop of Simon’s dad dying of cancer and me suffering a miscarriage… not a happy time at all.

2. What are 5 things on my to-do list for today? (No particular order)

1. Update this blog Done

2. Hang out the washing  Done

3. Spin some more wensleydale top that is staring at me reproachfully from the container it has been in since being purchased about six weeks ago (little does it know that there is stuff upstairs that has been waiting to be spun for over 18 months…)

4. Have lunch – no idea what

5. Phone Mum and Dad Done. I dislike routine, generally, but this is one weekly “task” that I never miss. Sunday is always the day I speak to Mum (Dad doesn’t really *do* long chatty phone-calls) so we can catch-up with each others’ lives and make sure everything is OK. I wish we lived nearer…

 

3. Snacks I enjoy.

Hmmm, easier to list what I don’t like, really – offal (bleurgh, disgusting); winkles, whelks, oysters etc (who thought it would be a good idea to actually put those lumps of snot in their mouth? Why?); badly-cooked veg.

I do like cheese and biscuits, and dippy things with vegetable crudités, also sweet things in general – a particular favourite at the moment is home-made fruit malt loaf with lashings of butter mmmmm….

 

4. Things I would do if I were a billionaire.

Billionaire… that’s like, loads of money, isn’t it?

I would make sure my family were all sorted financially, buy a house with a swimming pool and travel all over the world. I did think about a yarn shop, but I know I’d never be able to part with the stock…

 

5. Places I have lived.

Leicester (including Braunstone, Blaby and Wigston);

London (including Camberwell, Streatham, Norbury and Brixton);

Sussex (including Lewes, Newhaven [twice] and Seaford)

People I have tagged (because I am nosy and I would like to know more about you!!):

I don’t really want to officially tag anyone, but if you’d like to have a go, please do (especially if you’re Sheepish Annie, Knitman, Knit the Knits, Knit-Tigger or Sussex Yorkie).

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Tags etc

  1. A Badger & A Hedgehog

    Snuffle snuffle snuffle.

  2. Hi Annie-I must say I don’t normally do the tagging thing. I might if the mood takes me but don’t hold your breath!
    You are, if you didn’t already know, a link on my log, on the right hand side.

    I like that sock pattern you have started.

  3. Hey, if chuckling at the farm is the worst thing the kids do, then I still say you’ve done a marvelous job as a parent. Trust me on this one.

    I did this meme last week, but I’ll see if I can’t come up with something interesting to add to it for ya! I can’t change the places I’ve lived, but maybe my to-do list will get more interesting over the next few days. Knowing I’ve been tagged might inspire me a bit…

  4. Hi Annie,

    Thanks for tagging me – just the spur I needed to get back on the blog. I’ve posted today but I haven’t done the meme yet. I promise to do it very soon, honest.

  5. i’m tagging you too 🙂

    lily

Leave a Reply

