I Knit day

Beware – this post is picture- and link- heavy.

Yesterday was I Knit London day at the Royal Horticultural Halls in London’s Victoria – a great venue for a great day. It was so good to see all the Ravelry t-shirts and badges and be able to put proper faces (not just avatars) to the names I see every day on this little laptop and it made for a real feeling of community there. I saw a sign on one of the stalls saying “please touch” and boy! were we touching! All around, knitters were stroking, fondling, sighing, oohing and aahing over all the deliciousness that was available to them. Knitterly heaven!

 A few (ahem) purchases were made:

EZ

EZ

book 2

book 2

book 4

book 4

I’m trying to build complete sets of these great knitting œuvres but am still a couple of books short. I find both EZ and BGW so inspiring that my fingers are already itching to knit a thousand new projects based on their writings.

There was more:

Knitwitches Cashmere lace weight

Knitwitches Cashmere lace weight

available here

 

Bluefaced.com alpaca/silk/cashmere laceweight

Bluefaced.com alpaca/silk/cashmere laceweight

Available here

 

Natural Dye Studio bfl superwash

Natural Dye Studio bfl superwash

available here

 

and my favourite:

Limegreenjelly merino roving

Limegreenjelly merino roving

available here. Jo, who runs Limegreenjelly, asked all her customers to send her pictures of whatever they make with her rovings which I thought was a lovely idea.

 

As if all that wasn’t enough to set a girl’s head spinning, we spent a hilariously funny couple of hours in the company of this lady

A happy Harlot

A happy Harlot

who was as entertaining as she was thought-provoking and who is every single bit as nice as you thought she would be.

 

There are more pictures which, if you’re not already overloaded with all things knitterly, you can see here

 

Tired, but happy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I Knit day

  1. Wow! Great goodies and great pics – really enjoyed the slideshow, some of those aliens are hilarious 🙂 The blankets were gorgeous too, wish I’d gone!

  2. How lovely that my fibre is your favourite Angie! Can’t wait to see what you do with it, it’s one of my favourites too!

  3. Uknitty

    Oh how I wish I had known you were gonna be there.

    I eyed up that copy of the opinionated knitter – but managed to resist.

    I did get knitwitches cashmere though ( Raspberry for me)

Leave a Reply

