Keeping busy

Well, I’m slowly adapting to the new quietness around the house. There has only been one phone call, which I think is a good sign, especially as it was not a panicky call or one asking for more money. I have started knitting a blanket/throw as Oxford is apparently several degrees colder than Sussex…

 

I have been keeping myself occupied with this, finally finished after being put on hold several times:

Garden Party shawl

Garden Party shawl

It was not without trauma though; I did not make a note of where I had got to in the chart (mainly because it was an unplanned hiatus) and found it rather tricky to work out where I had got to when I restarted. This meant that the lower main section of the shawl ended up shorter than it should have been, and with fewer stitches. Not really a problem, until I came to do the lower border which is attached as you go by purling the last border stitch together with the first shawl stitch. Obviously, the pattern has been worked out with a certain number of stitches which corresponds to the required number of border pattern repeats and that is where I screwed up completely encountered a problem. I had to do some maths (not my strongpoint) and draw little diagrams and shout at people who interrupted when I was counting and generally work stuff out with a pencil, but the end result is happily, accidentally, quite pleasing.

stitch detail

stitch detail

Garden Party shawl - front view

Garden Party shawl - front view

 

With that out of the way, my thoughts turned to spinning. I bought some rather pretty merino/silk blend fibre over a year ago and have only just got around to doing anything with it, but it was worth waiting for. Lovely to spin and a really yummy, squishy yarn as a result.

approx 100g

approx 100g

merino silk

merino silk

There’s still 100g of this colourway to spin, plus about 400g in other colours, but have I started? No. I have not.

I found this in the loft

40 year old toy

40 year old toy

This was a Christmas present when I was about seven or eight, making it almost 40 years old. It still works:

another new hobby

another new hobby

And this time around, I don’t need my mum’s help to set it up!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Keeping busy

  1. Lucy

    I forgot to tell you on the phone – my radiator is working now, my room was boiling hot when I got back from Daniel’s!

    Oh, and the shawl looks very nice.
    xx

  2. Hee-hee! I remember a few years back your telling me that you had one of those when I showed a picture of my little Spears. Fun, isn’t it?

    The shawl is lovely. You did an exceptional job and the color is amazing!

  3. I’ve nominated you for the “I love your blog” award, so get on over to my blog and pick up your ribbon.

Leave a Reply

