Crikey!

Another long gap between posts – I just don’t know where the time goes.

Since last time, I have:

  • Attended the second wedding in two weeks. Before this I hadn’t been to a wedding in years and then two come along at once, just like buses! Very different weddings, but both very lovely and I wish both couples a lifetime of love and happiness.
  • Done some rather plain, though useful, knitting. One down, three to go, a couple may be sewn rather than knitted -pictures when complete (if I remember).
  • Congratulated Bethany on her “A” level results – B for French, B for Photography, E for Philosophy.  She doesn’t want to go to university, so will be starting the rather daunting task of looking for work and deciding what to do with the rest of her life.
  • Taken Lucy back to Oxford. Term doesn’t start until the end of September but as she and her housemates are already paying the rent, they thought they may as well move in. The house is fine and I got to see a bit more of the city this time, but leaving my first-born so far away does not get any easier 😦 Yes, I know Oxford is only 120 miles away, but it seems much further…
  • Got used to my new cooker and made some really scrummy food. I have found cooking to be a real chore in recent years, but having a new kitchen and cooker seems to have reawakened my interest. Have also been watching “Economy Gastronomy” on BBC2 which has really made me think about the way I cook and use ingredients. I’ve tried out some of the ideas and recipes featured in the programme to great effect – yesterday, for example, I bought half a salmon from the local fishmongers, poached it in white wine for dinner and have made the leftovers into fishcakes. Twelve meals from a piece of fish that cost £10.50! Also tried the basic braised mince – 1kg of mince that has been turned into spaghetti bolognese for 3, chilli con carne for 5 plus enough left to make a shepherd’s pie for 3. It’s definitely saving me money and worry, as I can cook one main dish and turn it into three or four other meals for the freezer or whatever, but it does mean that I’ve spent a bit too much of my “spare” time in the kitchen recently.
  • Wasted far too much time on the ‘puter. No change there, then.
  • Suffered two migraines, having not had one for months 😦
  • Grown (and eaten) lots of tomatoes. The peppers that were planted at the same time very soon succumbed to the slugs, but the tomatoes have produced lots of fruit and are so much tastier than those bought in the supermarket.
  • Spent far too much time (and money) at the vet. Mollie developed cystitis last week and was quite obviously in pain and distress so off we went. Two injections and a feline happy spray seem to have done the trick as she is now back to her old self, lazing around on the sofa and eating at every opportunity. She absolutely loathes going to the vet and makes me feel really wicked for subjecting her to such an ordeal, but sometimes you just have to be cruel to be kind.

DSC01499

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Crikey!

  1. Youve been too busy to blog! The weddings alone would pretty much eat up my schedule. I tend to get wedding stress…

    Poor Mollie! I’m so glad she’s feeling better now. It’s so sad to see a kitty in pain. 😦

Leave a Reply

