Piccies

Well, another long gap between posts – it’s starting to become all too familiar around here. No excuses this time, just haven’t felt like posting, so there!
Anyway, as this is meant to be a knitting/fibrey-type blog, I suppose I’d better show you what’s been on the needles/wheel/loom round these parts recently:

Colourwork gloves


palm


Gloves for Lucy – these started out as mittens, but Lucy wanted gloves, so I bodged in some fingers.Nice and warm because the stranding provides an extra layer which has proved more than necessary in the recent snow. There is now a matching iPod cover as well – everyone knows modern technology is sensitive to the cold, too…

Colinette fibre, navajo-pied

This is my latest spinning. I was determined to get my wheel out before the Christmas holidays came to an end, and finally managed it the day before I went back to work! This is c150g of unknown wool, dyed by Colinette and purchased at the Knitting & Stitching show last autumn. The colours are lovely and it’s a really squidgy yarn. Dunno what yardage I got, but it’s navajo-plied and approx DK weight.

wool/bamboo socks

These socks are knitted in some wool/bamboo sock yarn I dyed up ages ago – a gradient effect was what I wanted, so am fairly happy with the results. The yarn was dyed so that each half was as identical as possible, but the effect would have shown up better if I’d made the socks longer. The pattern is one of my own which always reminds me of broderie anglaise.

handwoven scarf

This is a scarf that I’ve just finished. The coloured stripes are all leftover sock yarn and the yarn used for the weft is some slightly flecked natural-coloured 4-ply machine knitting yarn. I was hoping to use it for the warp but it is very loosely spun and breaks far too easily. Apologies for the crap photo…
Finally, a bit more weaving:

handspun silk and cotton

Warp is some white crochet cotton of long-forgotten parentage and weft is some hand-spun silk that came from P & M Woolcraft.
This picture does not show the colours properly (bad light, rubbish photographer) and also fails to show the wonderful sheen on the silk. I really like the way this is turning out so far.
Apart from all this, there has been some sewing too, but it’s a bit of a secret until it has been handed over to the intended recipient.
There’s also been the delivering of daughter plus new (refurbished) iMac back to uni and a painful bout of lumbago…
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Piccies

  1. Wow. That was worth the wait. I’m amazed by those gloves!!!

Leave a Reply

