Bags R Us

The bag making obsession continues unabated and Creek Towers is starting to resemble a “pile-’em-high, sell-’em-cheap” bag repository these days. Two more bags for your delectation and delight (OK, I may have been exaggerating just a little in that opening sentence):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The weekender bag is another pattern from the Bag Making Bible by Lisa Lam of U-Handbag.com (it’s the Great Getaway Bag in the book). It was made for Lucy as she has been complaining for a long time that none of her large selection of bags is roomy enough for everything she needs for a weekend away, yet still small enough to be easy to carry on the train or coach. This one fits the bill perfectly and I can see me making at least two more of these before long (one for Bethany, one for me…just need somewhere to go for the weekend). Lucy chose the practical brown and cream combo over some of the more flamboyant prints that caught my eye as she thought she would be less likely to grow tired of the colours before the bag wears out…she’s such a sensible girl (sometimes).

The grey bag is my new everyday bag, needed mainly so I could accommodate my Kindle on the daily bus journey to and from work; the last bag wasn’t quite big enough and the one before that was a bit too big…this one is just right. The pattern was a free one, available here,* and was quite challenging, mainly because it wasn’t designed for the vinyl fabric I used – it would have been difficult to get all the layers through the machine even with cotton fabric, but the vinyl just wanted to stick, even with a teflon-coated sewing foot. I’m pretty happy with the bag overall, but it wouldn’t bear close inspection as the fabric has been scuffed in places by the dog-feeds on the machine ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The sharp-eyed amongst you will have noticed that there is one object in the slideshow that is not a bag. It is, in fact, a teapot. A teapot that I painted myself. Oh yes. A couple of weeks ago, Lucy and I spent a lovely evening with friends at this place, and this was the result of my first encounter with a paintbrush for years. The design is taken from a book of embroidery transfers that I got some time ago but have yet to use for embroidery – looks pretty good on the pot though, no?

The new year has started off in a productive and creative way so far, let’s hope it continues.

* Just a note about this free pattern – it does not seem to be from an official Amy Butler site (although I think it is one of her patterns) and I downloaded it in good faith, but if the pattern has been offered without the designer’s permission, I apologise and will remove the link immediately

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bags R Us

  1. Michelle

    I LOVE your bags!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    induces warm fuzzy feeling!! makes me want to touch them and rummage inside, sizing up all the pockets and deciding what would go where!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I am about a third of the way through the oversized fashionista bag from that book. It’s so frustrating not being able to do it in one sitting but I know the bag will be worth the six or so sessions it takes. I love both of your new bags. The getaway bag looks really smart in that colour combo.

    Oh and you can never have too many bags!

Leave a Reply

