Try again

Yesterday was mostly spent sewing ( in between washing, hoovering and a bit of ironing), under the watchful eye of the ever helpful Mollie – always on hand to dispense sound advice, keep me company and generally get in the way:

I just don’t know how I’d manage without her!

Anyway, despite her “help”, I’ve managed to finish my bag – it’s “The Great Getaway Bag” from The Bag Making Bible by Lisa Lam. It’s the second time I’ve made this bag (the first one was for Lucy, in shades of brown and cream) and I’m ashamed to say that I do not appear to have learnt from my previous mistakes. No. I still think I know best, even when there’s plenty of evidence to the contrary (and more broken machine needles, just to reinforce the point!)

Anyway, modifications this time around (what? Why didn’t I just follow the pattern as written? Too easy, lol) are: no shoulder strap, different kind of fastening on the pocket flap, and attaching the pocket flap in a different way, which I think is neater and less bulky. I decided to quilt the lining, as the fabric I chose was quite thin and needed to be beefed up a bit – very boring to do time-consuming, but worth it (methinks). I used ordinary dress/quilt-weight cotton(by Amy Butler, I think), but interfaced it with some of this stuff – every bit as good as Lisa says and the result is a highly durable travel bag which I’m hopeful will withstand…well, pretty much everything!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

All I need now is someone to take me away for the weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Try again

  1. I love this bag. I have the fabric to make it, but it seems such a mammoth task I keep putting it off.

    • upknitcreek

      It actually goes together pretty well, but I would definitely advise a heavy duty needle – there’s lots of layers.

Leave a Reply

